Aftermath of Random House Announcement

March 5, 2012 at 4:56 pm 1 comment

When I wrote my last post, I was furious about Random House’s new pricing model.  I took the weekend to ponder the situation and see if my first feelings were valid.  I’ve come to the conclusion that my impulse to believe that Random House hates libraries probably isn’t true –  at least not totally.  I want so much to believe that RH just had no idea what they were doing – and several of their statements lead me to think this is true.  But then I ask myself why in the world didn’t they come to those of us who’ve been in the field for many years and ask us for input.  In a statement to Library Journal, Stuart Applebaum said “We are requesting data that libraries can share about their patrons’ borrowing patterns that over time will better enable us to establish mutually workable pricing levels that will best serve the overall e-book ecosystem,”  No one that I know of has been asked for that information.  Why wasn’t this background work done before March 1st?  Why doesn’t RH  now approach a group of librarians and invite them to get together and work out a solution?  Again, Stuart Applebaum stated  “Understandably, every library will have its own perspective on this topic, and we are prepared to listen, learn, and adapt as appropriate.”  I think actions will speak louder than words here.  ALA talks are great, don’t get me wrong – but it’s also important to talk with those of us who deal with ordering licenses from OverDrive, developing collections on a daily basis, and dealing with the frustrations of our patrons who wait months for popular titles as we watch our budgets dwindle.

In two weeks I’m speaking at a Michigan Library Association program on the topic of “Stretching our dollars when using OverDrive.”  I am totally clueless about what I’m going to say in the face of this most recent publisher development.  Let’s see – “Don’t purchase ebook licenses from Random House unless you have limitless funds” – or – “Just get one copy of the latest John Grisham novel, despite the fact that there are 80 holds on it.”  What do we tell libraries in struggling communities?  I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about this topic over the past few days, and I still haven’t come up with an answer my audience will like.  Perhaps there isn’t one right now.

Entry filed under: E-Books/ E-Readers. Tags: , .

Random House, Friend of Libraries ? The Demise of Encyclopædia Britannica

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Will  |  March 6, 2012 at 5:18 am

    It’s not that they hate libraries, they just love money. Random house is now the sole publisher selling ebooks to libraries, so now they have a monopoly. And the scent of a monopoly triggers the natural metamorphosis of any board of a large corporation into a money sucking Galactus. There eyes glow and their faces are expressionless as the miracle of greed sucks out every penny, while their heralds go out and explain to their victims how this is perfectly logical.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 13,452 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

Hope with her birthday cake

Gresham 39

Gresham 38

Gresham 37

Gresham 36

Gresham 35

Gresham 34

Gresham 33

Gresham 32

Gresham 31

More Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

