Annual Review Day

February 7, 2007 at 4:31 pm Leave a comment

I went over my annual review with my coordinator this afternoon.  Nothing newsworthy ever happens at these events – just checking to see if I agreed with what was written and to see if I have any great plans to unleash in this coming year.  This time was no different, except that along with updating our 5-year-old web page, I was commissioned to spread the word among my fellow librarians about Second Life.  I’ve been talking up SL ever since I returned from Internet Librarian in late October, but so far only one other librarian has joined and actively participated.

I plan to do a PowerPoint Presentation to my fellow reference librarians showing them the various “library related” events and spots on Info Island.  God forbid I take them away from the safe haven of this environment !!  I’m glad I didn’t do this talk before now because each week I see more and more interesting news emerging about those who are becoming actively involved in SL.  One of the biggies was the article posted on Second Life Binary Footprints  Blog about the World of Virtual Politics.  If Nancy Pelosi is interested, how can we resist jumping in ourselves ! (Just joking – she hasn’t even used her avatar yet.)

Yet it is safe to say that Second Life has gone mainsteam America if it’s being discussed in the hallowed halls of Congress.  I can’t imagine any librarian NOT wanting to at least be curious enough to want to see what all of this fuss is about.  I’ll let you know if my presentation changed anyone’s mind.

Entry filed under: projects at work.

Working with Word Press The Time Has Come at Last

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 14,048 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


