Welcoming the new generation of Librarians

March 27, 2007 at 11:42 am Leave a comment

Okay, I’ll admit it – I am envious of the newest crop of librarians who leave school with knowledge of web programming languages and graphic design.  Then I smugly take comfort in my 20-plus years of public service experience they are lacking.  Perhaps I shouldn’t judge them too harshly.
 Today, I want to publicly recognize an almost-librarian, who happens to be related to me although we’ve never met.   This distant cousin, Jeff Antaya, who is the same age as my youngest son, has been corresponding with me via e-mail since he was in undergrad work at Michigan State University.  We share a common love of genealogy and, as it turns out, libraries.  He has recently released a new and “improved” version of his web site  (Pytlewski Family Findings) which now has both a wiki and a blog to go along with it.   WOW – he has done in just a few years what I should have been doing in my 40 years of genealogy research.  Added to his technical expertise is his public library experience in the Lansing area.  When he graduates in August, I hope he finds the best job in the state.  I see in him the promise of a great librarian who comes with the webmaster skills I wish I had, along with a service-orientated mindset.  If the newest crop of graduates are all like Jeff, then I won’t worry about the future of our profession.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Switching My Focus Not Welcoming Spring

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 14,035 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


