Back to Work

April 15, 2007 at 3:33 pm Leave a comment

We arrived back home from North Carolina last night after a thirteen-hour drive punctuated by rain, sleet, and snow from West Virginia all the way to Michigan.  Oh, the joys of Spring.  I took not one, but two notebook computers with me for our five day stay.  One was from work, so I could prepare better to teach the RSS class online for the first time this week.  That one I opened once.  The other was my personal computer with my Legacy genealogy software installed.  I had hoped to meet with one of my husband’s cousins who has been doing the family research for almost a half century.  As it turned out, she had caught a cold at the funeral of my husband’s brother-in-law and couldn’t see me.  Instead, my sister-in-law gave me a notebook with all of this cousin’s research in it.  I opened it with great anticipation and was so disappointed to find a number of incorrect dates and names.  This person is a retired librarian and I thought the information would be as accurate as I would expect of myself.  This has made me even more determined to double-check my sources and dates with each tidbit I enter into my database.  On the positive side, I took my trusty digital camera and covered four family cemeteries in the space of two days.  I can’t wait to put them on my computer and work with them, but I still have that RSS class looming large on the horizon.  Hmmmm…. I might have to wait until NEXT week to play with my photos!

Entry filed under: genealogy.

Not Welcoming Spring Piles and Piles of Stuff

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 14,012 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


