Perceptions of Librarians

May 8, 2007 at 11:56 am Leave a comment

Yesterday I had the pleasure of giving a presentation on Social Software to the Suburban Librarian Cooperative Youth Librarians at the Warren Civic Center Library.  While I was in the process of getting my notebook computer set up, I asked their “techie” if I’d have a problem getting on Second Life from within the Library. (At PDL, we block that port.)  He was truly surprised at my question and asked why I’d want to get to that site.  I WAS a librarian, wasn’t I?  He didn’t think librarians knew about places like that.  WOW – I immediately jumped online and showed him my really hot avatar doing a dance on the roof of the virtual Michigan Library Consortium building in SL.  He looked impressed, especially when I told him there were hundreds (if not thousands) of other librarians just like me who wanted libraries to have a presence on SL.  I guess we change our image one person at a time.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Internet Demand Mothers and Librarians

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 13,991 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

sarah05142015

sarah_zoo

Sarah_mosiac

sarah_forcard

Sarah_ape

Santa2016

patrick_smiling

patrick_smaller

patrick_092016

Joe_small

More Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


