The Great Divide

May 23, 2007 at 3:58 pm Leave a comment

Earlier this week I was in my 50s and now I’m suddenly in my 60s.  I feel as if I’ve passed over a great divide between the saavy, productive librarians and those who are in the process of being put out to pasture to await retirement.  I realize this is only a perception on my part, but it comes from years of reading magazines and watching movies and television about “senior citizens” and getting old.  Frankly, I don’t feel any older than I did last week, except that my back is still giving me the same trouble it did pre-birthday.  But now I find myself looking around at conferences and meetings to see if I’m the oldest librarian there.  I will be presenting at Internet Librarian 2007 this October, and I’ll bet I will be the oldest person doing a program.  Should it bother me – no.  Does it bother me – yes!  Will I stop trying to learn new things or striving to achive more in the coming years – Hell no!! I just wish I had some other 60ish librarians who were doing it too to keep me company.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Mothers and Librarians Time Out For Personal Life !

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 14,012 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


