Just One of Those Days

June 21, 2007 at 6:35 pm Leave a comment

Did you ever have a day that you’d like to call Alexander and the terrible, horrible, no good, very bad day, except that it was YOUR terrible horrible, no good, very bad day?  Well, I think I’ve just been through one of those after three hours on various reference desks.  In our library, we like to keep a lunar calendar handy because it seems like most of our problems occur during the full moon, but I can’t even blame today on that.  Can it be the Summer Solstice? (My great-grandmother died on this date back in 1923 and my grandmother always noted that it was truly the longest day of the year.  I’ve never forgotten that.)  My bad day started long before I showed up for work.  At 10am I got a call from my dentist’s office saying I had missed my cleaning appointment.  Oops – I knew it was sometime in June, but it totally left my mind in the midst of getting packed to leave on vacation tomorrow morning.  I actually kept my hair appointment, except I thought I was just going for a cut, when I had actually scheduled for a color job.  (Strike two for the bad memory.)  I got to work knowing I had a huge stack of stuff to get done by 9pm tonight so I could leave with a clear conscience.  Sure, that was assuming I would have peace and quiet for my three desk hours.  Guess again!!  Irate patrons were coming out of the woodwork and over the phone lines all afternoon.  Technology is wonderful, but if I hear about one more person with problems accessing our remote databases, I’ll scream !!  Then, of course, there are the little darlings who don’t understand the meaning of the words “all copies checked out.”  They just stood there looking at me, waiting for me to magically produce new Pokemon DVDs out of thin air.  Unfortunately, their mothers had that same look on their faces as well.  Bad news is always hard to break!  I thought my bad day was over when I had to attend to a pink dried up mess on the brand new carpet – melted ice cream – but then I rammed my knee into the edge of the table as I sat down to finally eat my processed ham sandwich, a rare dinner treat.  You know, I’m normally a workaholic, but I am actually looking forward to a week away from this place.  After all, it’s going to be in the 90s next week here and we won’t have any air conditioning.  At least I’ll be by a pool sucking on a cold drink, even it it’s also 90 in Florida.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Check out my Guestbook! Back from Vacation

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 13,991 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

sarah05142015

sarah_zoo

Sarah_mosiac

sarah_forcard

Sarah_ape

Santa2016

patrick_smiling

patrick_smaller

patrick_092016

Joe_small

More Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


