Support Staff

August 9, 2007 at 4:18 pm Leave a comment

There are so many instances when I just take our support staff at the Library for granted.  I know they are overworked at times, but aren’t we all?  Lately, I’ve been hearing more than the usual grumblings in the staff lounge and finally I have taken time out think about their jobs.  I say “jobs” because I consider my work here as a “profession” (rightly or wrongly) that I enjoy and one that challenges me on a weekly, if not daily basis.  My support staff friends are just as smart as I am (if not smarter) yet to many, their jobs seem mundane and almost tedious at times.  I can’t imagine changing places with my friend who does nothing but label and re-label video boxes and DVD holders — year after year.  She laughs about it, but deep down inside, I know she feels like her abilities are not recognized.  As a group, I don’t see them as having personally challenging tasks.  Dealing with friendly patrons at the circulation desk seems to be the favorite part of their day, but even then it requires standing on their feet for hours on end.  Most of us are approximately  the same age, and I’m not sure if I could deal with my aches and tired legs with the grace they exhibit to the public.  It’s times like these that I realize how truly thankful I am to have the kind of work here that I so love and thrive on!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Sitting in my Dreamweaver Class Time to Hang it Up?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 14,012 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


