Yet another new project – will it fly?

October 10, 2008 at 3:01 pm Leave a comment

Every so often I feel compelled to come up with new ideas on using technology in a library environment.  I don’t know if this compulsion is related to the fact I’m an “over 60” librarian and want to prove I can still be relevant or if I just get bored with the status quo and need to shake things up a bit.  My latest brainstorm has to do with keeping mentally fit.  My beloved husband spends hours doing Sudoku puzzles and playing Simon, an older electronic game.  He claims these activities improve his memory.  He may be on to something.  So I did some research and, lo and behold, studies have shown that seniors who did crosswords and other mind puzzles stave off dementia and remain mentally alert longer than those who don’t.

Thus, the inspiration for our Brain Age Collection.  We’ve purchased three Nintendo DS consoles and three Brain Age type games to go along with them.  I have padded cases and extra cords.  We will be circulating these DS packages for a week at a time, free of charge.  I’m hoping Baby Boomers will take them home and see if they like them.  If so, they can then purchase them for personal use.  Many of our staff members are eager to try them, so I think it might prove to be popular among the general adult population.  Who knows….. I’ll keep you updated on my success or failure.

Entry filed under: projects at work. Tags: , .

Getting to know Wii Internet Librarian 2008 Pre-conferences, Day 1

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 13,991 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

sarah05142015

sarah_zoo

Sarah_mosiac

sarah_forcard

Sarah_ape

Santa2016

patrick_smiling

patrick_smaller

patrick_092016

Joe_small

More Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


