Trying to Keep up with Facebook & Twitter

March 25, 2009 at 6:10 pm Leave a comment

While I love the social networking of Web 2.0, I find myself having to prioritize my time spent online now that I am maintaining my own Facebook & Twitter accounts as well as the Library’s.  This is in addition to  four e-mail accounts and two blogs.  Did I mention my webmaster duties for the Library’s web page, three other community web pages, and my own Parish web site?  No wonder I have a blister on my mousing thumb and my right shoulder is perpetually sore!  The unfortunate part of this scenario is that I used to spend time at home reading books and newspapers.  The last four best-sellers I’ve had to return to the Library unread – and not even opened.  I miss my reading!!  Online activity can become addictive without us even realizing the subtle signs.  I believe the time is quickly approaching for me to wean myself away from the laptop with its instant news and tweets and return to the mundane tasks of cooking dinners and reading the evening newspapers before they disappear.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Being a Librarian In Charge Michigan Economy Relected in Libraries

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 14,305 hits

Archives

My Flickr Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.