Job Posting Thoughts

June 16, 2009 at 12:48 pm 4 comments

I just sent out postings to several listservs and put a notice on our web page about a job opening for the Coordinator of Adult Services here at the Library.  The current head is retiring after being here for over 25 years.  She’s a good friend of mine, and with her departure I’ll become the senior functioning librarian on the staff in terms of years here.  (This doesn’t count administration.)  Several friends and co-workers have asked me if I intend to apply for this vacancy.  I certainly have the qualifications and knowledge to do a good job in this position.  Then reality hits and I come to the conclusion that I’m simply too old to compete when I’m already old enough to draw early Social Security.  Would I have filled out an application ten years ago – certainly.  Even five years ago I might have considered it.  Now it seems foolhardy.  I can’t tell you how sad it makes me to openly acknowledge  that there are challenges I can’t accept and jobs I can no longer hope to obtain.  What remains is being the very best, up-to-date electronic resources librarian that I can be.  There are still productive years left in my career.  I still want to leave a mark on my profession, no matter how small.  But today, I know that I’ll never take over the office of my retiring friend.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Wedding and Graduation Time Power Surge Woes

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. voyance  |  November 4, 2009 at 11:13 am

    i just needed to tell you that your forum is stuning

    thank you so much

    Reply
  • 2. PriseejesTred  |  December 18, 2009 at 1:38 am

    Hello,
    My PC worked not correctly, many mistakes and buggs. Please, help me to fix errors on my computer.
    I used Win Vista.
    Thx,
    PriseejesTred

    Reply
  • 3. StarixCraftix  |  October 24, 2010 at 9:04 pm

    Всем доброго!
    Скачал игру 15 Days, поигралось совсем чуть чуть….
    Интересно Ваше мнение, а также на каком конфиге запускали ее.

    Вот тут почитал Обзор игры 15 Days
    но кажется он не совсем достоверен…

    Reply
  • 4. actislask  |  September 23, 2011 at 5:09 am

    Man .. Excellent .. Superb .. I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds alsoI’m glad to search out a lot of helpful info here within the post, we’d like work out extra techniques in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 14,048 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


