My IL2009 “Must Do” List

October 21, 2009 at 6:27 pm Leave a comment

Each year I peruse the Internet Librarian Conference program weeks prior to actually attending the event.  I make a mental list of presentations I must attend and people I need to see.  This year is no exception!  Here is my list, subject to revision on a moment’s notice:
1.  Renew old friendships and meet new librarians throughout the conference.  I get so much information and great ideas by talking to others in my field, whether it’s over a quick breakfast or chatting in one of the conference halls.
2. Hone in on the sessions dealing with mobile technology.  Our web page looks pretty darn awful on an iPhone screen and I need lots of help in that area.  I see an entire track dedicated to mobile tech on Tuesday, so you can count on me being there.
3. CMS – Oh yes, content management systems are calling to me.  By the time IL09 is over, I plan to have a firm decision as to which software we’ll be using to re-do our Intranet and then our web page.  While I see more sessions dealing with Drupal, I know Joomla! will also be covered in the preconference workshop.
4.  There are certain “not to be missed” sessions that I attend each year.  Among these are Mary Ellen Bates with her Search Tips Spectacular, Gary Price with what’s new at the Resource Shelf and just about any session with David Lee King , Sarah Houghton-Jan or Darlene Fichter.
5. In my off-time, I have a standing date with the hundreds of sea lions who claim the rocks in Monterey Bay as their home turf.  I love to stand there and listen to them bark.  Strange as it sounds, I find it very soothing.

Entry filed under: conferences.

October is National ***** Month IL2009 – Saturday Morning in Monterey

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 13,991 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

sarah05142015

sarah_zoo

Sarah_mosiac

sarah_forcard

Sarah_ape

Santa2016

patrick_smiling

patrick_smaller

patrick_092016

Joe_small

More Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


