Going Mobile

December 17, 2009 at 9:33 am Leave a comment

Just two years ago I blogged about my search for the perfect smart phone.  I thought I found it in my Moto Q, but that turned out to be a frustrating move.  During the 24 months I used it, it was a constant battle to keep it charged and to navigate through the Microsoft OS.  As a result, I chose not to make a full move into the mobile world. 

I recently broke down and accepted an iPhone as a early Christmas present from my husband.  My entire family has been upset in their inability to reach me by phone when I had the Moto.  Now I’m ready to proclaim that I’ve GONE MOBILE !!  I love my iPhone.  I use it not only for phone calls but also for messaging, web searching, game playing and photography.  As for the apps, I’m like a kid in a chocolate factory.  Here are some of my favorites:
1.  Scanner Pro –  I can point at a document, book page or photo and get a digital scan of it.  I convert it into a .pdf and then e-mail it to myself.
2. Red Laser – So handy while Christmas shopping.  I hold my iPhone up to a product barcode and it grabs it and searches online to see prices at other stores.
3. Sit or Squat – Helps me find the closest public restroom, no matter where I happen to be.
4.  My social networking apps for Facebook, Flickr and Twitter.  Now I can post and read my updates remotely.
5. Dropbox – I’m so glad there is an iPhone app for this service.  I can sync my documents in my various computers seamlessly.

My list of apps grows each day as I find more and more programs that allow me to function better in a mobile world.  At the top of my projects for the new year is to make a mobile version of our Library’s web page.  I am a true convert after two long two-year struggle.

Entry filed under: Personal Favorites.

Helping Seniors through the maze of Medicare Part D. Moving to the Dark Side

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 14,012 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


