A new iPhone app worth noting

February 3, 2010 at 9:34 am Leave a comment

I generally try not to favor one database vendor over another, but in this case I’d like to mention something that Gale (Cengage) is making available free of charge for the iPhone.  It’s called Access My Library and I think Gale is stepping forward to lead the way in making information resources available to all of us no matter where we may be.  This is how it works – the app uses the geo-locator in your phone to identify libraries close to where you are.  You then choose which library you wish to access.  There is an Access Resources button on the bottom of the screen.  Click on it and you’ll be taken to a screen with a list of all of the Gale Electronic Databases at that library.  Choose the one you wish to use and there you are – – no library card or password needed!!  This means that if I’m vacationing in Florida and want to look up something in a Gale database, I’ll be able to use my iPhone to do it.

If enough folks give Gale high marks for this application, perhaps that will inspire other vendors to follow suit.  In any case, this is one of my favorite apps for my iPhone and I’m certainly spreading the word to anyone who will listen!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Scaling down our web page Mobile Web Page Launch

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 14,029 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


