Countdown to Joomla! Workshop

March 9, 2010 at 9:22 pm Leave a comment

Next week a group of staff members from our library will be introduced to the Joomla content management system.  We will participate in a two and a half hour training session that will cover enough information to get us familiar with this new software.  Hopefully, we’ll then be able to practice on our own virtual servers until we feel comfortable in converting our current HTML web page into a Joomla format.  It sounds so simple, but at the same time so terrifying!

It was almost fifteen years ago that I first started web development.  I’ll never forget looking at a page of code and asking myself if I was smart enough to learn this strange bunch of meaningless gibberish.  I made the decision to conquer my fear and jump into HTML wholeheartedly.  (This was coming from a woman who wasn’t allowed to take college-level math because of poor high school grades.)  The logic of this programming language appealed to me and I learned to love hand coding.  Then Dreamweaver software entered the scene.  I signed up for a three-day “bootcamp” to learn this new web editing tool.  The first day I suffered a panic attack after a mere four hours.  Again, I questioned my ability to absorb the vast amount of information being thrown at me so quickly.  Could a 50+ brain compete with the rest of those youngsters sitting in the classroom next to me?   In the end, I learned Dreamweaver and now can’t imagine functioning without it.

Today, I’m looking at starting from scratch to learn Joomla – but now with a 60+ brain.  I’m not a computer programmer, but a Colonial American History major.  Librarians are a curious group of individuals with a thirst for information.  That’s what drives us, I suspect, and this is what I will repeat to myself in class next week.  The focus of this blog is how an older librarian copes with new technology, and I’ll certainly share my trials and triumphs with Joomla in future entries.  For now, just wish me good luck!

Entry filed under: projects at work.

Mobile Web Page Launch The Day After Joomla!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 14,012 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


