My Initial Exploration of Joomla

March 25, 2010 at 12:45 pm Leave a comment

I’ve finally started a bit of “hands-on” work with the Joomla software loaded on my small notebook computer.  My immediate impression was one of going blind quickly with the multitude of icons and lists contained in the program.  When I get serious about creating the real site, I know it will have to be done on my desktop system with a larger monitor!  Aside from the eyestrain factor, I was at first confused by the various menu options presented.  After working steadily for about 90 minutes, I was able to  successfully customize existing buttons within my chosen template to reflect items to include on our Intranet.  I also filled two template modules with external links to various forms and documents used by our Library.  I removed the default Joomla logo and replaced it with our own Library’s logo.  It doesn’t look half bad, if I say so myself!! 

Having said that, I am now sorry that I didn’t take time to first read sections from the book,  Joomla! Start to Finish, by Jen Kramer before plunging into the program.   If I had read the book first, I would have started out by the SCAM system.  First make Sections; then Categories; then Articles, and finally Menus.  It makes a lot more sense that way.  I’m now afraid I’ll have to go back and re-do some of my work in order to make it function better.  I also think Kramer’s book makes a great point in planning a sitemap before even touching your keyboard.  The information I’ve gleaned from reading  just the first few chapters this morning will make a huge difference when our web team meets next week to discuss our public Internet site.  It’s one thing to practice for a few hours on your own computer and make mistakes, but another to jump into a huge project without the proper preparation and direction.

Entry filed under: projects at work.

The Day After Joomla! Changing a Mindset

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 14,035 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


