Changing a Mindset

March 30, 2010 at 10:55 am Leave a comment

Having worked with HTML for the past fifteen years or so, I’ve become  very format-driven when it comes to web development.  My recent foray into the realms of Joomla threatens to disrupt my entire approach to creating our new Library web site .  When I read the term “section”, I instinctively think it refers to a particular section of the web page.  Nope, not in Joomla!  Instead, it’s an organizational label for content that may end up being present on any number of web pages.  The same goes for the term “category”, which is a further division of a section rather than a formated place on a page.  These are but two examples of the  confusion in terms I’ve been experiencing as I try to immerse myself into the depths of Joomla training.

In many ways, I feel like I need to un-learn my past routine and start over with a new mindset as I approach my understanding of how CMS works.  This may be harder than mastering the software itself.  Thankfully, I have a wonderfully patient mentor – a LIS student who is also employed at our Library as a tech support assistant.  She taught herself  how to use Joomla last year and has already created a web page.  Now, she is more than willing to assist me in understanding the structure and theory of a CMS and I am thrilled to be able to share some of my practical experience as a librarian for her class assignments.  It’s a great partnership and one that I”ll need in my Joomla journey.

Entry filed under: projects at work. Tags: , , .

My Initial Exploration of Joomla Extending Non-Traditional Services to Patrons

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 14,035 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


