Exploring Joomla Templates

April 13, 2010 at 11:44 am Leave a comment

Since I promised to chronicle my journey into Joomla-land, I thought I’d update my progress along the way. Our Joomla team met a few weeks ago and made the decision to start looking at various templates offered by Joomla Clubs and development sites. Our mission is to find the three examples we think will work best for the new Library site and meet next month to explain our choices. Hopefully, we’ll end up agreeing on one of them for the web page.

With this task in mind, I’ve been perusing sites such as Joomla Art, Joomla Shack and Best of Joomla on a daily basis. I’ve looked at literally hundreds of templates – some flashy, some slick and others just plain ghastly. I think one of the most difficult things for me is to try to visualize how OUR Library information will look in a template currently displaying sports equipment, new cars, health food, or adversiting rock bands on these Joomla demo sites. My father was a designer for over 50 years, and I’m afraid not a single bit of his talent has brushed off on me. I’m more of a substance rather than inspired design person – and it concerns me that my choices will end up being boring and unappealing to our patrons. Thankfully, that’s why we have a TEAM consisting of a computer programmer/LIS student, a young Youth Services Librarian, several Gen X Adult Services Librarians, and me – the Baby Boomer. We all bring different perspectives to the table, and together, hopefully, we’ll well represent our patron base. Stay tuned for our selections!!

Entry filed under: projects at work. Tags: , .

Extending Non-Traditional Services to Patrons Discovering Information Architecture

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 13,982 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

sarah05142015

sarah_zoo

Sarah_mosiac

sarah_forcard

Sarah_ape

Santa2016

patrick_smiling

patrick_smaller

patrick_092016

Joe_small

More Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


