Internet Librarian Conference Time!

October 20, 2010 at 6:26 pm Leave a comment

I’ve been so busy at work trying to learn the ins and outs of Joomla that I’ve sadly neglected my blog. But next week is Internet Librarian time and I’m getting excited about the new topics being covered in the conference. This annual event should be “old hat” to me by now since I’ve attended every year but one – 2001. That year my mother had back surgery and I stayed home to take care of her post-hospital care. Other than that, I’ve been privileged to attend each and every year it’s been held – – and before that, Computers in Libraries Conference in VA.  Yet it never grows old.

So what is it about this conference that I love? My immediate answer is the people. I’ve met wonderful librarians from just about every state in the union, not to mention Canada. We share stories and experiences before the sessions and during break times. I’m inspired by what they have accomplished and have hopefully shared some of my successes with them as well.  Of course, I also love the speakers who are willing to share their knowledge about the latest and greatest in technology for libraryland.  Each year I return from the conference with enthusiasm and an eagerness to try some of what I learned in my own library environment.  The Exhibit Hall is the place where I meet vendors who try to lure me to purchase their latest databases.  I’ve found, however, that the majority of these products are geared more to academic or special libraries rather than public.  My personal “big 3” – Gale, ProQuest and Ebsco are always there, so I make sure to get to see them.

I’d be less than honest if I didn’t admit that the sea lions are another reason I love this conference.  I’m down at the pier by 8am each morning before the sessions start and return in the evening to watch them and listen to their barks.  Monterey is a wonderful walking town and I find myself strolling along the Bay every free moment I have.  If you haven’t been to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, be sure to make that a stop.  It’s a fairly easy walk and you won’t regret it.  If you walk around the immediate area surrounding the conference buildings, you’ll run into a Trader Joe’s where there are fresh fruits and other reasonable food items.

That’s my short list of what I love about the IL Conference and Monterey.  I hope to see many of you there next week!

Entry filed under: conferences. Tags: , .

Settling Estates online Internet Librarian, Monday, Oct. 25, Day 1

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 14,012 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


