Evaluating E-Readers

December 3, 2010 at 3:55 pm 3 comments

The holidays are here and our librarian staff has been innundated over the past few weeks with questions regarding which e-reader is the best one purchase.  Since none of us on the staff actually own an e-reader , the decision was made by our director to purchase several different devices currently on the market and then have our staff become familiar them so we would be able to carry on an informed discussion with our patrons.  While we would never recommend a particular brand, at least we can talk about issues such as the number of text sizes and the placement of navigation tools as they vary from one device to the next.

Right now I’m reading a book on the Nook and having a great time doing so.  I had some initial problems trying to locate the “preferences” link so I could change the font face and size.  In fact, I had to resort to reading the User Guide online at Barnes & Noble before I finally located it!  I do like turning the pages by pressing the arrows located on each side of the screen.  This was much more convenient than having to move my fingers down to a single button at the bottom of the Border’s Kobo e-reader.  Yet I did like the feel of the quilted back and easy menu on the Kobo.

Of the three e-readers I’ve worked with so far – the newest Amazon Kindle, the Kobo and the Nook, the Nook is the largest and weighs the most, which isn’t a drawback for me but might be for others.  I love the weight and feel of the Kindle, but I’m unable to use it to download our OverDrive library books.  I’m still waiting to try the Sony e-reader which has gotten high praise from the librarian currently using it.  It looks promising, but I am happy getting to know the Nook at the moment.

We are so fortunate to be able to have such an assortment of e-readers for our staff to use and then demonstrate to our patrons.  I anticipate that in January we’ll have even more questions regarding how to use these devices from folks who received them as presents.  I’m planning an informational program after the first of the year with lots of “show & tell” and step-by-step instructions on how to download the digital books made available through the Library.  I may not be an expert in all e-readers by that time, but thanks to our Director, I’ll know enough to carry on an intelligent conversation regarding their basic operation and features.

Entry filed under: projects at work. Tags: , .

Cloud Computing on Day Two The Nook and I

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tooty Nolan  |  December 3, 2010 at 6:04 pm

    Some of the media would have us believe that e-readers are well on their way to supplanting real books, but my experience suggests anything but. Of the few books that I’ve managed to sell by self-publishing upon Lulu.com, only ONE has been via download – despite the fact that the price of my downloads are on average seven dollars less that the paperback version, and there is no cost for postage and packing. people, it seems, still like to hold a real book in their hands.

    Reply
  • 2. World Spinner  |  December 8, 2010 at 12:41 am

    Evaluating E-Readers…

    Here at World Spinner we are debating the same thing……

    Reply
  • 3. Tooty Nolan  |  November 21, 2013 at 5:04 am

    Three years on I’ve been forced into a 180 degree turn. E-books took over – so much so that I un-published the paperback versions. If there’s one constant in the world – its change.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 13,982 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

sarah05142015

sarah_zoo

Sarah_mosiac

sarah_forcard

Sarah_ape

Santa2016

patrick_smiling

patrick_smaller

patrick_092016

Joe_small

More Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


