Google’s New eBookstore

December 8, 2010 at 3:54 pm Leave a comment

Did I miss a major announcement or was not much PR done on Google’s new eBookstore?  Dick Eastman did a blog post about it recently in his Online Genealogy Newletter in relation to downloading free genealogy books from this site.  I’m a huge fan of Google and use many of their free apps, so I decided to check out this new site.  I was impressed with the clean look of the web page, typical of Google products.  In the banner section, I was informed that ebooks from the Google site could be used with several apps including the iPhone, iPad,  iPod touch or Android phone as well as regular computer browsers.  In addition, ebooks could also be read on a Nook, Kobi,  Sony Reader and a variety of other devices.  This was all great news to me, although not such good news for Kindle owners.  This seems to be the only major e-reader not compatible with the Google products since Adobe Digital Editions is used as Google’s software of choice.

On the main page of the eBookstore, I could view new arrivals, best sellers, top rated or choose a subject area.  If I clicked on a book cover, I then could purchase it or view a sample.  I really appreciated the easy access to a sample!  There is also the usual reviewing area with the ability to read reviews from Borders and Goodreads as well as submit your own.  As far as pricing of new books/bestsellers, Google seems competitive with other online stores such as Barnes & Noble, Borders and Amazon.

What sets the Google eBookstore apart in my eyes is the easy search at the top of the page.  After reading Dick Eastman’s posting, I decided to try my luck at finding free ebooks on genealogy.  I did a search for family histories of the Gresham family.  When the results appeared, I was then able to select only the free ebooks.  I ended up with ten pages displaying free ebooks dealing with Greshams!  I immediately downloaded a promising title on my computer and ended up a very happy camper.  It is the depth of Google’s resources that impressed me and will keep me coming back to this site on a regular basis.  I can’t wait to transfer my latest title over to the Nook and start reading.

Entry filed under: My Favorite Sites, projects at work. Tags: , .

The Nook and I Love @ first glance for the Nook Color E-reader

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 14,048 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


