The Nook and I

December 8, 2010 at 2:54 pm 3 comments

After spending two weeks up close and personal with the Library’s Nook e-reader, the time has come to part ways and move on to another device.  After some initial confusion regarding the various settings and use of the touch screen at the bottom of the reader, I became a fan of the Nook.  Here are my likes and dislikes:

1  I could actually get to our Library’s homepage using the wireless function on the Nook.  (I’ve yet to achieve this on the Kindle due to our library’s wireless setup.)  Thus, I could also read email as well as read on this device.  I LOVE multi-purpose electronics!!

2.  The contrast and screen resolution were top notch on the Nook.  When we compared screens on the four e-readers we currently have at the Library, the Nook seemed to have the best contrast to me.

3.  The Nook battery may be replaced.  For as little as $25-$35, you can buy and install a replacement battery yourself.  This is not true in some of the other e-readers, including the Kindle.

4.  I like the way you can move from page to page by using the touch arrows displayed on the frame on either side of the reading screen.  While I prefer the feel of actually pushing the backward and forward buttons on the side of the Kindle, I got used to the touch arrows easily.  This was much better than having to move my thumb down to work the one large button on the Kobo reader.

5.  It still takes a while to adjust  to the momentary flashing of the page from black to white with each turn of the page.  With the Nook, it is much less noticeable than with some of the other devices I’ve tried, but is still distracting.  Thus is the nature of the electronic format we’re using.

6.  Another plus for the Nook is the presence of an external speaker so you don’t necessarily have to use earpods in order to listen to an audio file.  (With the Sony Reader, there is no external speaker while the Kindle has stereo speakers.)

7.  Of all of the e-reader devices we’ve tried so far, the Nook is the heaviest at just over 11 oz.  The Kindle, in comparison is a mere 8.7 oz.  It doesn’t sound like much of a difference, but for those folks who may have a strength problem in their wrists, this may be significant.  Since I am a lover of “fat” books – those over 500 pages – I’m used to the heft of a heavier device.

8.  Access to books is where the Nook really shines.  I know that I can purchase hundreds of titles from the Barnes & Noble Nook store, but I am spoiled by a steady supply of free library books.  I can still have my free access to e-books to use on the Nook through our Library’s subscription to OverDrive.  I simply load the Adobe Digital Editions software on my laptop computer; download the books I’ve “checked-out” electronically from the Library’s website and then transfer them to my Nook through the Adobe software.  It literally took under 10 seconds to download a Grisham book to my computer and then another 5 seconds to move it to the Nook.  I have my books for a two week loan and then I simply delete the file.  (I am able to do the same thing with the Sony Reader and the Kobo, but not the Kindle.)

These are my first impressions as a user of the Nook.  As I get to experience working for longer periods of time with the other e-readers, I may decide that I prefer another device.  But for now, the Nook has the features I appreciate on an electronic device that may some day take the place of print materials.  I just hope that time doesn’t come soon.  While I love gadgets, I still have my trusty book next to my bed at night.

Entry filed under: projects at work. Tags: , , .

Evaluating E-Readers Google’s New eBookstore

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kyle  |  December 26, 2010 at 6:56 pm

    Kathy-

    I found your blog after trying out the Midwest Collaborative this afternoon to download a book for my new Nook. I was dismayed to find that many of the titles that I wanted were not available and that I had to place a hold. Can you tell me what the typical time period is for a hold on this system? I belong to the KDL library system and am used to the on-line hold feature which gives you some idea of how many holds are in front of you. If you could shed some light, it would be greatly appeciated. Thanks- Kyle

    Reply
  • 2. Kyle  |  December 26, 2010 at 6:57 pm

    I forgot to hit the follow-up comments box via email, so I am sending this 2nd email to accomplish this…

    Reply
  • 3. Ronnie  |  January 31, 2012 at 6:10 pm

    Thanks for your comparison of the e-readers.
    I love my Nook but find the cost of books
    Prohibitive. Our library does have Overdrive but
    most of the books have anywhere from 30-50
    people waiting for each book. If you have any
    additional ideas I would love to hear them. Can
    I be a virtual patron of other libraries?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 13,991 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

sarah05142015

sarah_zoo

Sarah_mosiac

sarah_forcard

Sarah_ape

Santa2016

patrick_smiling

patrick_smaller

patrick_092016

Joe_small

More Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


