Wrapping It Up with the Nook Color

December 21, 2010 at 12:04 pm Leave a comment

It’s been a great few weeks with my newest friend, the Nook Color, but all good things must come to an end.  It’s time to post some closing thoughts about this e-reader and move on to the next device to be tested.  I loved reading on the Nook and the glare wasn’t distracting – however it’s December in Michigan and there’s just not a lot of sun at this time of the year even if I were crazy enough to be reading outside in this bitter cold.  If I were in Hawaii by a pool it would probably be a different story, but I can’t prove it.  At night I can read in bed without distracting anyone with an extra reading lamp.  So far, the considerable weight (15 oz)  hasn’t been a problem, but it truly is the heaviest of the dedicated e-readers I’ve used.  The battery life is one of the major drawbacks if you plan to be away from a power outlet for more than eight hours.   I’m pleased to hear that Barnes & Noble is planning on updating  the Nook Color’s operating system with Android Froyo 2.2 in January of 2011.  This shows their commitment to expanding the capabilities of the Nook and improving performance.  While we still won’t have access to the Android Store for Apps, I have heard rumors that B & N will have their own limited number of apps available for purchase.

Speaking of the Barnes & Noble Store, I need to mention the great selection and organization of the Nookbooks area of their website.  Users may search by new releases, “coming soon”, best sellers, free books and a wide variety of subject areas.  Over the past few weeks, I’ve read about possible embargos on the release of e-books by major publishing companies, but I didn’t see any evidence of this in the titles I viewed.  The Nook versions of the new books were being released at the same time as the print copies of the dozen books I checked out under new releases.  What the Night Knows by Dean Koontz is due out in both versions on Dec. 28th.  The Nook version sells for $9.99 and the hard cover is $14.73 with a list price of $28.00.   As a grandmother, I had to make a quick visit to the Nook Kids section of the site and I was delighted to see bright, colorful ebooks including some with “read aloud” technology.  Prices range from $15.16 for a Read Aloud version of The Polar Express down to $.99  for some Beatrix Potter stories.  While I plan to take advantage of the free e-books offered through our Library’s OverDrive subscription, it’s nice to know that pricing at Barnes & Noble is reasonable and the selection is outstanding.

Bottom line – Yes, Santa.  Please send me a Nook Color for Christmas.  I’ve been a very good girl this year!

Entry filed under: projects at work, Uncategorized. Tags: , .

The iPad has arrived ! My First Night With the iPad

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 13,991 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

sarah05142015

sarah_zoo

Sarah_mosiac

sarah_forcard

Sarah_ape

Santa2016

patrick_smiling

patrick_smaller

patrick_092016

Joe_small

More Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


