My First Night With the iPad

December 22, 2010 at 9:53 am Leave a comment

Last night I got to take the Library’s iPad home with me and put it through its paces.  I already knew that reading e-books downloaded from OverDrive wasn’t going to be a great experience.  When I first set up the iPad last week, I installed the OverDrive app and discovered that it was sized for an iPod or iPhone rather than the iPad.  In order to read the book at full screen, you need to magnify it and the result is slightly blurry text.  I demonstrated this to my husband last night and he first said that he thought it was “softer” and easy on the eyes, but then agreed that he didn’t like the result.  The good news it that OverDrive has already announced that an iPad-specific app is in the works, so this will be fixed shortly.  Books purchased from the iBook Store look much better on the screen and I expect the OverDrive books will eventually be as readable.

Having given up on reading on the iPad, I then turned to playing my favorite game – Angry Birds – on this device.  Again, I think the game was created for the iPhone & iPod so the resolution was a bit off on the larger screen.  I tried two other games specifically made for the iPad and they were sharp and the color was outstanding.  I’m used to gaming on my iPhone and found it a bit harder to manipulate the larger device with my fingers while balancing it on my lap.  I want to love this latest Apple product, honest, but so far I’m just not sold.  I use a mouse on my MacBook and fingers on my iPhone.  This in-between size has confounded me.  Tonight I plan to try it with email and social networking, so stay tuned.

Entry filed under: projects at work. Tags: , .

Wrapping It Up with the Nook Color The iPad and Non-Mac Users

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 14,029 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


