Second Look at the iPad

March 14, 2011 at 2:39 pm Leave a comment

When I first used the iPad as an e-book reader, I was disappointed at the way the books downloaded from Overdrive displayed on the screen. This was due to the fact that the iPad was using an app designed for the much smaller screen of the iPhone/iPod. Since that time, the developers at Overdrive have released an iPad specific app for their EPUB downloadable e-books. Now, when I view on of the books I get through our Library’s subscription, it’s truly a delightful reading experience! The resolution is sharp and the text flows perfectly from page to page, no matter which size text I choose. Now for the bad news… despite the fact that there are several excellent free apps that will allow users to read PDF files on the iPad, the Overdrive Media Console is not one of them. If you try to download one of the subscription PDF e-books, you will get an error message informing you that your Overdrive app doesn’t support that format, and your download is halted.

Another wonderful discovery I made with the iPad as an e-book reader is the availability of some really slick children’s books with a “read-to-me” component. I chose to purchase “Cat in the Hat” to read with my 3 year old grandchild. The book is faithfully displayed along with extra audio effects and each word highlighted as it is spoken by the narrator. You may also touch objects on the page and it will display the word and identify it out loud.

I am truly delighted with the iPad as an e-reader as well as a tablet device. I’ve not been bothered by the glare, but do appreciate the backlit s reenact at night – as well as the beautiful color display. I haven’t yet seen an iPad 2, so all of my comments pertain to the original iPad with wifi. It’s a winner with me!

Entry filed under: projects at work. Tags: , .

Whose E-Book Is It? E-Reader Programs Continue

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 14,029 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


