Catching my breath

May 11, 2011 at 5:24 pm Leave a comment

Since March 30th, I’ve given six different presentations on a variety of topics and I think I’m finally finished for a few months!  While I’ve had great fun talking to fellow librarians and patrons alike on the wonders of e-readers, I feel like I’m dreaming about the various devices nightly.  I varied my routine by also doing three different genealogy talks in our local community on topics ranging from Immigration and Naturalization Records to the Roll of Genealogy in Social Networking.  The common thread in each of these different talks was that technology and digital media all played huge rolls in my discussions.  This is the truly amazing part of my job – whether it’s explaining how 19th century digitized books can be loaded  onto your Nook Color e-reader or suggesting that my older genealogy patrons try creating a Facebook page to keep up with local history societies and younger relatives.  It all leads back to embracing new technologies, no matter what your age.  I think that’s why librarianship appeals to me.  I have the chance to meet people of diverse ages and backgrounds, professional librarians like myself as well as those who share my passion for tracing family history.  We’re all thrust into this world where new innovations are bombarding us faster than we’d like and then we choose to either take that step to make ourselves adapt at  them or retreat into our old comfort level.  Yes, it scares me to death at times, but I want to be part of the group that takes advantage of the best new technology available.   These past six weeks of preparing the talks and discussing their content with attendees has been one of challenges and great satisfaction.  Now, I want to sit back, enjoy the sun, and catch my breath while reading a trashy novel on my Nook Color!

Entry filed under: E-Books/ E-Readers, genealogy, projects at work. Tags: , , .

Kindle Users soon to be able to use OverDrive e-books! Librarians vs. Consumer Reports

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 14,035 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


