Looking at DuckDuckGo

July 15, 2011 at 1:27 pm Leave a comment

Duck Duck Go Search EngineWhile I truly love just about everything that has Google in its title, I that we, as librarians, need to be aware of what else is out there in the world of search tools.  I read a brief article by Greg R. Notess (Search Engine Update column) about a search engine with a funny name – DuckDuckGo  in the July/August issue of Online magazine.   I enjoyed Greg’s column, so I decided to take a look at this Google alternative.

My first impression of the home page is that it reminded me of the way Google looked when it first came out – clean and simple – but with a duck icon.  I did my normal trial search (using my last name) to see what kind of results I’d find.  To say I was impressed was to put it mildly!  While I didn’t see a total number of results, I can tell you that it brought up blog entries, Facebook mentions, photo credits from newspapers, tombstone inscriptions and a wide variety of what I’d call traditional pages.  Next to each result was a small icon to let you know what type of resource it was.  My first search, alone, was enough to make me want to learn more about this product.

What I really liked about DuckDuckGo is that they don’t track your searches.  I’ve become more and more concerned about privacy issues lately, so this is a huge selling point for me.  Another great feature of this site is the “Goodies” section.  There is a long list of sample questions you might ask – and you fill in the missing part.  For example, under the Dates area, it says “Birth Date of” and I filled in “Napoleon.”  My answer came back immediately, courtesy of  Wolfram/Alpha to be Aug. 15, 1769.  Pretty slick, huh!  There is another section of goodies for techies which gave me a nice display of hex colors to use in web creation. 

Bottom line – I really liked DuckDuckGo.  I probably won’t give up Google for most things, but I feel like I have a new tool to use in my research arsenal at the Reference Desk.  Take a look at it and I think  you’ll be impressed as well.

Entry filed under: My Favorite Sites, Uncategorized, Web Links. Tags: , .

An Hour at the Reference Desk Digipalooza 2011

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


del.icio.us Bookmarks

Blog Stats

  • 13,982 hits

My Twitter Tweets

Recent Posts

Archives

My Flickr Photos

sarah05142015

sarah_zoo

Sarah_mosiac

sarah_forcard

Sarah_ape

Santa2016

patrick_smiling

patrick_smaller

patrick_092016

Joe_small

More Photos

Feeds

All views expressed on these pages are mine alone and may not represent the Plymouth District Library's position or opinion.

Creative Commons License
Well Rounded Librarian by Kathy Petlewski is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


